[Android] how to clear app data before test

Hi, Im pretty new to Appium.
I want the applications data to be cleared before each test.
How can I accomplish this?
I thought this was done by default [“no-reset”," false"];
but my app starts where it left off each time and I have to manually clear the app data from the application settings on the device.
Thanks

You can run the uninstall command line…
adb uninstall YOUR_APP_PACKAGE

Thanks for the response Asi,
I do not want to uninstall the package but clear the data before my test as to always start at the splash screen.
Thanks

‘adb shell pm clear my.wonderful.app.package’

Thanks wreed,
is there a way to implement this in a test?
I was thinking it would be a capability setting;
e.g. capabilities.setCapability(“no-reset”," false")
Thanks again.

Short answer: Yes!

Long answer: Your testing should not be dependent on Appium, but rather on your language of choice and the testing framework that you use. You don’t give either, so I’ll use mine:

I use Ruby, my testing framework is rspec, therefore I create a method in spec_helper.rb:

def clear_data
 `adb shell pm clear my.wonderful.app.package`
end

Now in my test I make sure to do this:

before(:all) do
 clear_data
end

So if I have tests that don’t need to clear data, no problem. Otherwise I’ll clear it before my tests. Note that I could also do a before(:each) if I wanted to clear data between tests in a suite.

Note that this is an oversimplified example to keep the discussion on point.

1 Like

If you have the right capabilities, Appium will install and start your application before execution and uninstall it afterwards. See http://appium.io/slate/en/master/?ruby#server-flags for more details.

In our implementation, we start up the appium server and execute all of our test cases, so each of our test cases controls whether or not they need the data cleared exactly as @wreed described.