✖ Error running xcrun simctl and ValueError: No JSON object could be decoded on Mac 12.2.1

Mac OS: 12.2.1 Monterey
Appium. 1.22.0 (on appium GUI server) and appium 1.22.2 on terminal.
XCode 13.3.1
JDK 1.8.0_322
Carthage 0.38.0
Node17.8.0
Npm 8.5.5
Appium-doctor1.16.0
Homebrew 3.4.5

When I run the “appium-doctor --ios”, I get the error "Error running xcrun simctl "
When I try to build inside XCode, I get the error “/Applications/Appium.app/Contents/Resources/app/node_modules/appium/node_modules/appium-webdriveragent/WebDriverAgentLib/Routing/FBWebServer.m:12:9: ‘RoutingHTTPServer/RoutingConnection.h’ file not found

BTW, my WebDriverAgent.xcodeproj project is under a different folder:
/Applications/Appium.app/Contents/Resources/app/node_modules/appium/node_modules/appium-webdriveragent and as well as under the folder
/usr/local/lib/node_modules/appium/node_modules/appium-webdriveragent

I am new to appium, that is mobile testing. Please help !

This makes me think you may not have Xcode command line tools, can you check?

1 Like

Yes, I followed these steps to include the XCode command line tools.
xcode-select --install

When I run the command again, I am getting a response that the command line tools were already installed. So, confirmed.

This is ok, as you’ve installed both Appium Server (GUI) and it looks like the NPM install. I’m guessing you’ve installed appium-doctor through NPM as well, but not sure.

Did you run:

./Scripts/bootstrap.sh

As referenced here:

Also, see here:

https://github.com/appium/appium-desktop/issues/159

Yes, I did run the commands
*** mkdir -p Resources/WebDriverAgent.bundle**
*** ./Scripts/bootstrap.sh -d**

$ appium-webdriveragent % ./Scripts/bootstrap.sh -d
Fetching dependencies
xcrun: error: unable to find utility “simctl”, not a developer tool or in PATH
Traceback (most recent call last):
File “”, line 1, in
File “/System/Library/Frameworks/Python.framework/Versions/2.7/lib/python2.7/json/init.py”, line 291, in load
**kw)