How to scroll in Appium using python

Hi I want to know how to scroll in appium using python

I have done it in Java before and it worked really well.
driver.scrollTo(“Text”);

However I can’t seem to do the same in python. I am fairly new to python and I have try doing multiple ways to scroll

One way I tried was
el1 = self.driver.find_element_by_name(‘Text1’)
el2 = self.driver.find_element_by_name(‘Text2’)
self.driver.scroll(el1, el2)

second way I tried was
self.driver.find_element_by_android_uiautomator(‘new UiScrollable(new UiSelector().scrollable(true).instance(0)).scrollIntoView(new UiSelector().text(“Some Text”).instance(0));’).

second way scroll once but didn’t scroll all the way down so it threw NoSuchElementException.
Also, can someone explain to me what instances are in UiSelector?
I read the description but I didn’t quite understand
Instance: Set the search criteria to match the widget by its instance number.

I was going to ask the same question. Please Someone answer.

I use move_to, like this:
action = TouchAction(driver)
action.press(el1).move_to(el2).release().perform()

2 Likes

@116 Are you using an iOS native app? If so, does the above work for you in the simulator?

I am using an Android native app, I am not using the simulator.

For the native iOS folks using simulator testing, the following code will work (in Appium 1.3.4):

driver.execute_script("mobile: scrollTo", {"element": <webdriver object element>.id})

Just substitute ‘webdriver object element’ and it will scroll to the object.id. This is required because all gestures within iOS simulators are broken by Apple.

I’m attempting to scrollTo in a webview of a hybrid app and your suggested script doesn’t appear to work. At least on my iOS8 simulator.

self.driver.execute_script("mobile: scrollTo", {"element": <my_webdriver_element>.id})

I see the scrollbar activate in the webview, but it doesn’t physically scroll the page and the element does not come into view.