Is this a joke? Why is this so hard?!

Sorry for sounding sour but this is incredibly frustrating for me.

I’ve a self-taught junior QA Engineer, I’ve managed to learn automated testing for web apps using selenium running on node.js just fine. You install node.js, then you npm install webdriverjs and chromedriver and you’re good to go.

However gettign started on Appium has been soul-destroying for me.

The docs are possibly the worst I’ve ever seen in beginner terms. I can’t get a simple test to run. Here are the steps I took:

1. Went to the appium repo in the node folder, thinking I could npm install -> npm run and see a test. Nope.

2. From there they say first go somewhere else and read the docs to install appium. https://github.com/appium/appium/blob/master/README.md

3. from there they link to the “Getting Started” guide

4. From there: npm install -g appium
    But then they mention installing the driver so I go to the XCUITest Driver link.

5. Go to https://github.com/appium/appium/blob/master/docs/en/drivers/ios-xcuitest.md

6. From there they link to another doc for “Real Device Setup”

At this point I have 5 tabs open to start a simple test.

1. From the docs I start following instruction: brew install libimobiledevice
  2. brew install ios-deploy

There’s a BUNCH of stuff after that but none of it makes ANY sense. Suddenly after brew install iOS deploy they say:

I created an .xcconfig file and put

DEVELOPMENT_TEAM = <Jon Ellman>
CODE_SIGN_IDENTITY = iPhone Developer

Because that’s all they say to put. WHERE to put this file, and where I need to go to point to it??? No help there. So I just created it in the root of the node test folder

At this point I’m angry and (a lot of fruitless googling and trial-and-error in between these steps) and decide to go back to the original node repo and try to run a test. I do npm run ios-simple And this is what happens:

I give up. Hoping someone here can help me out I’m on the brink!

1 Like

npm install -g appium