Installing Appium Get Error - Target id is not valid. Use 'android list targets' to get the target ids

Hi All,
While installing appium, I encountered error Target id is not valid. Use ‘android list targets’ to get the target ids.. Can someone help me to fix this error? I just started learning appium.
Thanks for your help.

Steps:

1. Type git clone https://github.com/appium/appium.git in mac terminal
  2. Type ./reset.sh in mac terminal

Actual Results:
RESETTING ANDROID

• Configuring Android bootstrap
    Running “configAndroidBootstrap” task
    Error: Target id is not valid. Use ‘android list targets’ to get the target ids.
    Warning: Setup cmd /Users/mac/Documents/android-sdk-macosx/tools/android failed with code 1 Use --force to continue.
    Aborted due to warnings.
    ---- FAILURE: reset.sh exited with status 1 ----

The path /Users/mac/Documents/android-sdk-macosx/tools/android has no android folder but an android executable.
I typed android list targets and it lists the following two targets:
Available Android targets:

id: 1 or “android-23”
Name: Android 6.0
Type: Platform
API level: 23
Revision: 1
Skins: HVGA, QVGA, WQVGA400, WQVGA432, WSVGA, WVGA800 (default), WVGA854, WXGA720, WXGA800, WXGA800-7in
Tag/ABIs : android-tv/armeabi-v7a, android-tv/x86, default/armeabi-v7a, default/x86, default/x86_64

id: 2 or “Google Inc.:Google APIs:23”
Name: Google APIs
Type: Add-On
Vendor: Google Inc.
Revision: 1
Description: Android + Google APIs
Based on Android 6.0 (API level 23)
Libraries:

• com.android.future.usb.accessory (usb.jar)
    API for USB Accessories
  • com.google.android.media.effects (effects.jar)
    Collection of video effects
  • com.google.android.maps (maps.jar)
    API for Google Maps
    Skins: HVGA, QVGA, WQVGA400, WQVGA432, WSVGA, WVGA800 (default), WVGA854, WXGA720, WXGA800, WXGA800-7in
    Tag/ABIs : google_apis/armeabi-v7a, google_apis/x86, google_apis/x86_64