Accessing Android Browser with Appium

Hey there,

I’m new to Appium and trying to write a very simple program to familiarize myself with it. I have an Android emulator and want to use the Android standard browser to navigate to a website. My code looks something like this:

public class MyHomepageTest
{
    private WebDriver driver;

String homePage = "http://en.wikipedia.org";

@Test
    public void homepageTest() throws Exception {
        DesiredCapabilities capabilities = new DesiredCapabilities();
        capabilities.setCapability("deviceName", "Nexus 7");
        capabilities.setCapability("platformName", "android");
        capabilities.setCapability("platformVersion", "5.0.1");
        capabilities.setCapability("browserName", "android");
        driver = new AndroidDriver(new URL("http://127.0.0.1:4723/wd/hub"),
                capabilities);

driver.get(homePage);
    }
}

When I execute homepageTest(), I get this:

org.openqa.selenium.SessionNotCreatedException: A new session could not be created. (Original error: No app set; either start appium with --app or pass in an 'app' value in desired capabilities, or set androidPackage to launch pre-existing app on device) (WARNING: The server did not provide any stacktrace information)

I would like to avoid having to start Appium with parameters. I’m guessing that “–app” means that there is no app being tested. Is there a way to include the “–app” in the code? I won’t be testing any apps for now, I just want to access the browser.

Thanks for any help.

Please try this

capabilities.setCapability(“browserName”, MobileBrowserType.BROWSER);

I think it should help you.

Thanks, that did take me further. I made the change you suggested and now, when I run the test, I see the browser briefly opened in the emulator, but before it can navigate to the website I specified, I get this: