Appium/Android Help getting find element to work

I am new to using Selenium with Appium for mobile testing. We have used selenium web driver to automate our website and looking to move towards automation of the mobile app.

I am hoping I could reach out for a few quick pointers. I am not able to select this element to then send text to begin the log-in process and I have been researching for hours to find a possible video help etc.

Below is a screen shot from Appium, I am trying to select the email field and I cant see to use the ID or the xpath: https://screencast.com/t/KokZ2tCgjLG4

I am looking to find the element and then sendkeys to the field so I can log into the app.

Any help or direction is greatly appreciated.

Thank you,

Here is my code:
def setUp(self):
desired_caps = {}
desired_caps[‘platformName’] = ‘Android’
desired_caps[‘platformVersion’] = ‘8.0’
desired_caps[‘deviceName’] = ‘Pixel’
desired_caps[‘app’] = PATH(
‘/Users/stevenrutherford/desktop/Android/foodlogiq-x86.apk’
)
desired_caps[‘appPackage’] = ‘com.foodlogiq.connect’
desired_caps[‘appActivity’] = ‘.MainActivity’

self.driver = webdriver.Remote('http://localhost:4723/wd/hub',desired_caps)

def test_login(self):
    time.sleep(15)

email = self.driver.find_element_by_xpath("//*[@contentDescription='EMAIL ']") #I have try multiple options here
    email.click()

And I can’t seem to get Appium to find the element:
[HTTP] --> POST /wd/hub/session/a56058ad-94e9-4a69-a554-ad7bc3d2b6b7/element {“using”:“xpath”,“sessionId”:“a56058ad-94e9-4a69-a554-ad7bc3d2b6b7”,“value”:"//[@contentDescription='EMAIL ']"}
[MJSONWP] Calling AppiumDriver.findElement() with args: [“xpath”,"//
[@contentDescription='EMAIL ']",“a56058ad-94e9-4a69-a554-ad7bc3d2b6b7”]
[BaseDriver] Valid locator strategies for this request: xpath, id, class name, accessibility id, -android uiautomator
[BaseDriver] Valid locator strategies for this request: xpath, id, class name, accessibility id, -android uiautomator