Appium & Ruby - searching by resource ID is v. slow

I’m fairly new to automated testing and ruby. Basically, I am trying to find elements on a page and click on them. For android, when I run the code to find an element, it can sometimes take really long. Here’s an example of the code that runs the find element process:

def find_element(element_name)
elements = nil
result = nil

if(is_iphone)
    element_name.gsub("'", '\\' * 4 + "'")
end

# Check if element_name is present in the lookup dictionary, if present, use value instead.
if(name_lookup(element_name, is_android == true ? "Android" : "iOS")) then
    element_name = name_lookup(element_name, is_android == true ? "Android" : "iOS")
end

# Search by name or exact text.
value = '//*[@name="' + element_name + '"]'
elements = $driver.find_elements(:xpath, value)
if (elements.size() > 0)
result = elements[0]
    return result
end

# Search by label.

label = '//*[@label="' + element_name + '"]'
elements = $driver.find_elements(:xpath, label)
if (elements.size() > 0)
    result = elements[0]
    return result
end

if(is_android)
     # Search by resource id (Android only).
     elements = $driver.find_elements(:id, element_name)
     if (elements.size() > 0)
     result = elements[0]
         return result
     end
 end

# Search for element containing the text "element_name". Uses xpath.
# iOS searches by name, Android by text.
is_iphone ? (xpath = '//*[contains(@name, "' + element_name + '")]') : (xpath = '//*[contains(@text, "' + element_name + '")]')
elements = $driver.find_elements(:xpath, xpath)
if (elements.size() > 0)
    result = elements[0]
    return result
end

return result
end 

Essentially, what’s happening is that searching by resource id is required to get past the login screen and doesn’t take long whatsoever - in fact it takes milliseconds. However, once I’m past the login screen, searching seems to take forever. Here’s an example of the log: