Error being returned for long_press in python client : {"required":["elements"]} and you sent ["sessionId","element"]

I’m having trouble using long_press in the python client. I hope I’m doing something silly as I’m new to appium. Any help would be appreciated figuring this out.

The error being returned is {“required”:[“elements”]} and you sent [“sessionId”,“element”] for long_press.

Version’s, Caps and imports
appium 1.6.3

from appium import webdriver
from selenium.webdriver.common.touch_actions import TouchActions

desired_caps = {}
desired_caps[‘platformName’] = ‘iOS’
desired_caps[‘platformVersion’] = platformVersion
desired_caps[‘deviceName’] = deviceName
desired_caps[‘udid’] = udid
desired_caps[‘automationName’] = ‘XCUITest’
desired_caps[‘realDeviceLogger’] = ‘idevicesyslog’
desired_caps[‘app’] = os.path.abspath(app_path)
desired_caps[‘xcodeConfigFile’] = ‘/usr/local/lib/node_modules/appium/node_modules/appium-xcuitest-driver/WebDriverAgent/xcodeConfigfile.xcconfig’
desired_caps[‘xcodeSigningId’] = ‘iPhone Developer’
desired_caps[‘newCommandTimeout’] = 10000

Code below is inside a function:
print(“Inside long_press_on_model”)
model = self.driver.find_element_by_id(model_name)

current = self.driver.current_context
print("This is the current driver " + current)

# print("This is the dir of the webElement " + str(dir(model)))
print("this is the model" + str(model)) 
action = Base.TouchActions(self.driver)
action.long_press(model).perform()

Terminal output:
Inside long_press_on_model
This is the current driver NATIVE_APP
this is the model appium.webdriver.webelement.WebElement (session=“e9c97185-1f75-4870-9e73-9818b96d4e82”, element=“2837406B-2D88-4D82-94E0-49C5EE53FF44”)
Traceback (most recent call last):
File “tests/test.py”, line 44, in
myFunc.long_press_on_model(model)
File “page_models/my_test.py”, line 66, in long_press_on_model
File “/usr/local/lib/python2.7/site-packages/selenium/webdriver/common/touch_actions.py”, line 47, in perform
action()