Error when running 'sudo authorize-ios'

I’m a newbie in using Appium with iOS simulator and I’m now just trying to set it up. I read that I should authorize use of the iOS simulator by running the below command:

sudo authorize-ios

I tried the command and got the error below. Can someone help on how to resolve the error?
Thanks!

info AuthorizeIOS Enabling DevToolsSecurity
info AuthorizeIOS Updating security db for developer access
info AuthorizeIOS Granting access to built-in simulator apps
info AuthorizeIOS The xcode directory is : /Applications/Xcode.app/Contents/Developer
info AuthorizeIOS Changing ownership to ‘monicamendoza’ on directories: /Applications/Xcode.app/Contents/Developer/Platforms/iPhoneSimulator.platform/Developer/SDKs/iPhoneSimulator.sdk/Applications, /Applications/Xcode.app/Contents/Developer/Platforms/iPhoneSimulator.platform/Developer/SDKs/iPhoneSimulator9.3.sdk/Applications
ERR! AuthorizeIOS Encountered an issue changing user priveledges for iOS sim app dirs: /Applications/Xcode.app/Contents/Developer/Platforms/iPhoneSimulator.platform/Developer/SDKs/iPhoneSimulator.sdk/Applications,/Applications/Xcode.app/Contents/Developer/Platforms/iPhoneSimulator.platform/Developer/SDKs/iPhoneSimulator9.3.sdk/Applications
ERR! AuthorizeIOS Error was: Command ‘chown -R monicamendoza: /Applications/Xcode.app/Contents/Developer/Platforms/iPhoneSimulator.platform/Developer/SDKs/iPhoneSimulator.sdk/Applications /Applications/Xcode.app/Contents/Developer/Platforms/iPhoneSimulator.platform/Developer/SDKs/iPhoneSimulator9.3.sdk/Applications’ exited with code 1

Can you please specify, which Appium version you are using?
Also please try command: sudo $(npm bin)/authorize-ios
See if that works.
Useful link: https://github.com/appium/appium/blob/master/docs/en/contributing-to-appium/appium-from-source.md

I’m using the Appium GUI version 1.5.2

I tried running the command you mentioned but I just got the ‘Command not found’ error.

Do you have npm installed ?