Hybrid App - chrome driver fails to find chrome

Hi there!
I’m relatively new to using appium/webdriver tech; I’m trying to automate an app on android (real device) that launches a broswer and after switching contexts the driver fails with an error:
Error: Failed to start Chromedriver session: An error occurred (Original error: chrome not reachable
[Chromedriver] (Driver info: chromedriver=2.37.544337 (8c0344a12e552148c185f7d5117db1f28d6c9e85),platform=Mac OS X 10.13.4 x86_64))
[Chromedriver] at Object.wrappedLogger.errorAndThrow (/usr/local/lib/node_modules/appium/node_modules/appium-support/lib/logging.js:78:13)
[Chromedriver] at Chromedriver.callee$2$0$ (/usr/local/lib/node_modules/appium/node_modules/appium-chromedriver/lib/chromedriver.js:411:13)
[Chromedriver] at tryCatch (/usr/local/lib/node_modules/appium/node_modules/babel-runtime/regenerator/runtime.js:67:40)
[Chromedriver] at GeneratorFunctionPrototype.invoke [as _invoke] (/usr/local/lib/node_modules/appium/node_modules/babel-runtime/regenerator/runtime.js:315:22)
[Chromedriver] at GeneratorFunctionPrototype.prototype.(anonymous function) [as throw] (/usr/local/lib/node_modules/appium/node_modules/babel-runtime/regenerator/runtime.js:100:21)
[Chromedriver] at GeneratorFunctionPrototype.invoke (/usr/local/lib/node_modules/appium/node_modules/babel-runtime/regenerator/runtime.js:136:37)

I am using chromedriver 2.37.544337 Appium 1.8.1 and can manually interact with the chrome browser on the phone using the chromedriver
I did notice that the desired capabilities are assuming I’m still in my app when launching the same android package instead of chrome. . . could that be the problem? Is there a way to interact with that without changing appium code?
{“desiredCapabilities”:{“chromeOptions”:{“androidPackage”:“my.app”,“androidUseRunningApp”:true,“androidDeviceSerial”:xxxxxxxxxxxx"}}}

Any advice would be much appreciated!

Check what version of chrome you have on your phone / emulator