Using Appium for iOS to Get Text of Element

I am a developer using Appium to drive automated testing in an iOS app. We have been tapping into the accessibilityLabels to test, however the accessibilityLabels and actual text of the label is not always the same.

We would like to access the actual text attribute of the element to verify that it is correct. It would be great if we could tap into the size and location of the iOS element as well. Any help with this would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

I’ll start the answer and maybe someone will complete it!

As far as I know in ios you have element.text and element.name and the first should be the value of the element and the second the accessibility label. p.e.

first_tag(:UIAStaticText).name
first_tag(:UIAStaticText).text

as far as the element position to tap it, you should be abe to do so with something similar to:

element = first_tag(:UIAStaticText)

positionY = element.getLocation().getY() + (element.getSize().getHeight() / 2);
positionX = element.getLocation().getX() + (element.getSize().getWidth() / 2);

And then tap it

TouchAction elementTap = new TouchAction(driver).tap(positionX,positionY);
elementTap.perform();

Note: surely I have typos on above code. I tried to write it in java, but I’m using ruby. Also you should not call getLocation and getSize so often, call it once and save the array results and the those variables, in order to decrease the calls to appium.

Can you explain more about the first_tag function? Do you mean first_ele? Because looking in the Appium documentation I see a first_ele function, but not a first_tag function.

http://www.rubydoc.info/gems/appium_lib/0.6.7/Appium/Common

Also, how do you recommend we test that this works? We are writing tests in a ruby file, but it looks like we only have access to the Selenium Web Driver Element functions. How do we access the Appium library functions from this file?