ANDROID_HOME issues on Appium-Mac

Hi,

I am new to mobile automation.
I am setting up appium on my MAC.

1. When I am running appium-doctor in a new terminal, I am getting error for ANDROID_HOME
    info AppiumDoctor ### Diagnostic starting ###
    WARN AppiumDoctor :heavy_multiplication_x: ANDROID_HOME is NOT set!
    WARN AppiumDoctor :heavy_multiplication_x: JAVA_HOME is NOT set!
    WARN AppiumDoctor :heavy_multiplication_x: adb could not be found because ANDROID_HOME is NOT set!
    WARN AppiumDoctor :heavy_multiplication_x: android could not be found because ANDROID_HOME is NOT set!
    WARN AppiumDoctor :heavy_multiplication_x: emulator could not be found because ANDROID_HOME is NOT set!
    info AppiumDoctor ### Diagnostic completed, 5 fixes needed. ###
    info AppiumDoctor
    info AppiumDoctor ### Manual Fixes Needed ###
    info AppiumDoctor The configuration cannot be automatically fixed, please do the following first:
    WARN AppiumDoctor - Manually configure ANDROID_HOME.
    WARN AppiumDoctor - Manually configure JAVA_HOME.
    WARN AppiumDoctor - Manually configure ANDROID_HOME and run appium-doctor again.
    info AppiumDoctor ###
    info AppiumDoctor
    info AppiumDoctor Bye, run appium-doctor again when the all the manual fixes have been applied!
    info AppiumDoctor

2. When I am opening a new terminal and giving command : source ~/.bash_profile , everything is working fine.
    Is there any solution for this, where I don’t have to give this command all the time?

3. I have downloaded the appium desktop version as well. When I run Appium Doctor from there, I get the error for “ANDROID_HOME” not set.

Thanks!!

Look at the manual page for Bash. On OS X systems, the .bash_profile file is not read by Bash because none of the shells launched on the system are login shells. .bash_profile is practically never read on OS X.

What you want to look at instead is .bashrc.

1 Like

Thanks for the response.