How to use the Remote server functionality?

Hi

I’m an appium newbie and would like to use the ”Remote Server” functionality. I have googled but did not find good information about it, or how to use it. Hope you can help 

Here is my current setup:
I’m on a Windows machine where I use Java/TestNG/Eclipse to write automatic test cases with appium. I have an android device connected to a MAC mini machine. How can I run tests on the Windows machine , that communicates with a device connected to the MAC machine?

I can connect an android device to the Windows machine and successfully run automatic test against it locally. I can also connect the android device on the MAC and run things locally successful. However now I would like to move my device and connect it to a MAC mini and remotely run tests on it from my Windows machine. How can I do this?

Eventually I will replace my android device with a iOS device, so I need it to run on the MAC, while the tests executes on my Windows machine (as that is where I would like to develop the tests). According to the documentation, it says:
“… You can however use the Remote Server option to connect to an Appium server running on a Mac“

Any help how to achieve this (or any pointers to examples) is highly appreciated!

Regards
Alex

1 Like

The method name is different for every language, but they all have a way of instantiating a WebDriver object with a parameter with the url of your remote server. That’s all you need to do :smile:

Thanks! Now it works :smile:

I changed the URL address passed to the constructor of:
new AppiumDriver(new URL(<remote-url>), ...);
in my test code.

Also had to change:
On the MAC I had to change the Server Address in Appiums general Settings tab: from 127.0.0.1 to the actual ip-address of the MAC machine

Still don’t understand what the “Use Remote Server” option is for (in the General Settings tab) then…???